Greek Chicken

I procured this wonderful recipe from the American Health Association’s book Healthy Family Meals. It’s light on calories, carbs, sodium and fat but not on taste! My especially picky Scout who shall remain nameless even loved it!

Makes 4 servings of 3 oz each, served with 3 tbsp tzatziki sauce. Make sauce earlier in the day.

1 lb chicken breast

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cayenne

1/8 tsp salt.

3 tbsp fresh lemon juice (2 decent sized lemons)

2 tsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil, for those of you who don’t watch Rachael Ray)

2 med garlic cloves, minced (I use and LOVE my Pampered Chef press. Best $15 I’ve ever spent!)

Place chicken in a glass dish. Mix dry spices together and rub into the chicken.

Mix lemon juice, oil and garlic together, then pour over spice rubbed chicken, making sure it is completely coated. Cover and let marinate 10-15 mins.

Broil 3-4 in from heat source 8 mins on one side and 3 on other. *I used my Foreman grill, 10 mins total.

Tzatziki Sauce:

1/3 cup finely diced cucumber. (I grated mine)

1/3 c good quality yogurt; I used Mountain High plain, Fat Free

3 tbsp low fat sour cream

2 tsp fresh snipped dill (yes, I used dried)

1 clove garlic, minced or pressed 😉

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

Mix well and let sit about an hour before serving.

Each serving totals 157 calories, 5 g carbs, 1 g fiber and 29 g protein.

One thought on “Greek Chicken

Leave a Reply

