Wisdom and Direction and the Only Place to Find It

There are times when you especially need that touch only the Holy Spirit can give. Some of what I’ve been reading/studying/meditating on says that the heart is the key to discerning that touch.

Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart (Psalm 119:2 ESV)

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the LORD sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7 ESV)
He wants my WHOLE heart. Not just small corners, nor the convenient places that I am willing to share. He wants it all, every minute place that I might harbor my little pet peeves. If you are at all like me, you want to hold some of that back. I don’t want to be pushed out of my comfort zone too often.

How, though, do we do this? We must be willing to relinquish, renew and remember.

Relinquish is the hard step. Who wants to NOT be in total control? God has each of our days planned. It’s all in His very capable hand. We don’t need to “control” it.

This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

(Psalm 118:24 ESV)

Renew not only your commitment to Him, but your vision. See things as He does. Be willing to go where HE leads. After all, the safest place on earth is in His grasp.

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
(Romans 8:38-39 ESV)

Remember your past victories, both large and small. Rehearsing your problems only makes you live them over and over again! Give testimony to how great God is and what He’s done in your life.

    Finally, then, brothers, we ask and urge you in the Lord Jesus, that as you received from us how you ought to walk and to please God, just as you are doing, that you do so more and more.
    
(1 Thessalonians 4:1 ESV)

This song spoke volumes to me today. I pray it does for you as well

God I look to You
I won’t be overwhelmed
Give me vision to see things like You do
God I look to You
You’re where my help comes from
Give me wisdom, You know just what to do

I will love You Lord my strength
I will love you Lord my shield
I will love You Lord my rock
Forever all my days, I will love you God

Hallelujah our God reigns
Hallelujah our God reigns
Hallelujah our God reigns
Forever all my days Hallelujah

Be Blessed

Barb

Leave a Reply

