The Journey Is Hard…

I have really been wrestling with the Lord regarding my continued struggle with food and it’s dominance in my life. It hurts. It should not consume every thought, every day. Yet, it does. Even as I sit here, right now. All one needs do is read back a few posts to see that I am not lying.

I need freedom, a breakthrough. I read too much, entirely TOO MUCH about food and what fad is better this week and which plan I should follow to feel better, stronger, healthier. Why do we (the collective) do this to ourselves?

The internet is chock full of information, as well as the library and stores. There’s a magazine article, new book out, great blog about what we should or should not be eating. Grains, bacon, vegan, high protein, low fat, no carb, high fat, no sugar, etc. My head hurts just READING that sentence, let alone writing it!

I’ve been following a Scripture writing plan, and this morning’s was in the book of Deuteronomy. This morning I read through all of chapter 11. And out of that I received a few nuggets of truth for myself:

~ The Lord has given me complete freedom to obey Him and the statutes He has lain out

~ Keeping those statutes is what will keep me strong and allow me to take possession of the “land” that He has given me.

~ It is NOT as complicated as the world makes it out to be.

Verses 26-28 say:

“See, I am setting before you today a blessing and a curse: the blessing, if you obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you today, and the curse, if you do not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside from the way that I am commanding you today, to go after other gods that you have not known.”

In relation to this whole crazy journey of health, the “other gods” are every plan and program I have attempted to follow. They are every wrong snippet of information that I have clung to in hopes that “this will do it.” Every book purchased, every vitamin, every notebook filled with my hard-to-read writing.

It’s all rubbish.

For you are to cross over the Jordan to go in to take possession of the land that the Lord your God is giving you. And when you possess it and live in it, you shall be careful to do all the statutes and the rules that I am setting before you today.” vvs 31-32

God is giving me land to possess. He is giving me health. All I need to do is love Him. Obey Him. Trust Him. Lean on Him.

How hard is that?

*sound of crickets in the empty night*

Here is something to help. I pray that it blesses someone this week.

Food For Thought

Duet 11:31-32

For you are to cross over the Jordan to go in to take possession of the land that the Lord your God is giving you. And when you possess it and live in it, you shall be careful to do all the statutes and the rules that I am setting before you today.

Cross over. What a strong vision of the mission that I am on that gives! I am to cross over a mighty, roaring river and take possession of what the lord has for me.

What is that, in regards to living a healthy life?

Healthy is so much more than skinny. Healthy is not tiring out while shopping. It’s having the strength to complete a task. It’s a good workout, and feeling energized instead of wiped out. It’s choosing the good carbs over the harmful ones. It’s whatever the Lord has shown you what the correct healthy way to live is for you.

The first thing is Spirit. Is my relationship with Jesus healthy? Do I have any sin that is keeping that barrier between us? Am I holding on to habits, thoughts, desires that are less than what is true, honorable, just and excellent?

I have been through many phases in my adult life. That means I’ve picked up a lot of information over those years, and some of it is not true or excellent. In fact, some of it is downright dangerous to be clinging to. I need to be able to cast off those false tidbits that cling to my mind and heart and cleanse myself of them before I can cross over into that promised land. A land that God wants to give me. A land that enables me to serve Him in the areas He has called me to. How exciting is that?

Right now, pray. Release every wrong thought. Give over every pet idea you hold dear. Examine your heart, and ask Jesus to sweep out the dust from every corner. Give HIM your journey, and He will show you what His plans are for you.

Is being skinny more important than being His?

Father God, I ask You to show me the areas where I need You most. I ask You to expose any lies, any false ideas that I have concerning my health. I want to live in Your land, and I want to obey Your voice. Thank you for loving me so much that You set statutes to live by. Help me, in my journey to be the healthiest I can be, to discern the plan that You have for me.

I praise You and in Your Name I pray,

Amen

Verses for the week:

Deuteronomy 11

John 8:31-32

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

