Sugar-Free Can Be Hard To Find…

Since beginning the Blood Sugar Solution food plan this June, I’m trying to be as sugar-free as possible; ketchup was a biggie on the list of things I was clinging to that had sugar in it.  I loves me my ketchup.

*cue Carly Simon’s Anticipation*

So, I began scanning the Pin…everything uses sugar, even if you search for “sugar-free.” I suspect the Pin needs to adjust their algorithms or whatever it is they follow when you search something. Even in my 2 vegan cookbooks I had no luck…SUGAR!!!  What is with these vegans, anyhow? Everything is loaded with sugar. I decided to just wing it…

My final version does have a scant amount of sugar in it from the secret ingredient…BUT, it’s scant *congratulatory bow*

VintageChyck Ketchup

5 oz tomato paste (a tube)
4 oz sun-dried tomatoes in oil, oil drained off slightly (i used Jeff’s Naturals)
1/2 c veggie broth (or some good bone broth)
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 tbsp dried, minced onion
1/2 tbsp dried, minced garlic
1/2 tsp paprika
dash of salt (less than 1/8 tsp)
2 tbsp ACV
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
4 tbsp water (or more, depending on how thick you want it to be…all together I probably added about 1/2 c)

I whizzed all of this up in the blender on high, then popped it in a sauce pan to cook together a bit…it still didn’t have that slightly sweet kick, and I couldn’t decide what to put in it. One Whole30 recipe I found used dates, but, alas, I don’t have any.

I was going to put a tbsp of brown rice syrup in it and when I reached for it, I found

PICKAPEPPA SAUCE!!!!  

 

 

 

 

I threw 1/2 tbsp in, stirred and oh.my.sweet.ketchup!!!! I let it simmer together about 10 mins, and put it in a jar…it’s 3.5 cups….it’s resting in the fridge to let the flavors meld a bit more.

20160920_154150

Look at that yummy tomato goodness! It didn’t thicken up, and it’s a good consistency. I had it on eggs the following morning, and oh.my.yummieness! I admit, the tongue did wonder what happened to the beloved ketchup of old, but quickly got used to this new, exciting flavor. I’m planning a burger night next week, and, well…I will let you know 😉

I’ve got a list of books I need to have on hand, and the top o’ the list is The Paleo Approach, by Sarah Ballentyne. It’s far too chock full of info to merely take out of the library from time to time. Thankfully, she has a great blog, The Paleo Mom. I can be happy until I have some Amazon mad-money.

On the Plexus front, things are going terrific! I feel 150% better, have energy again and get great sleep. Hair and nails growing like weeds. Hip pain virtually gone. If I never lost another pound, I would continue using these great products. I feel healthy!!! And, that’s great! If you have any questions about Plexus, drop a comment or email me. I’d be glad to discuss it with you and choose what product would be right for you.

Till next time, my friends! Stay happy, be healthy and live the life God gave you! Be blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

