Getting Chilly, Gearing Up!

Fall has fallen on the foothills of the Rocky Mountains! There be snow in them thar hills! And, since this is Colorado, I can bundle up in the morning and tear 4 layers off by afternoon, only to replace them the moment the sun slips behind the mountains! It’s a great time for thick, creamy soup. And warm, gooey things. Potato stuffing.

NOPE!!! Not this chyck!

It is a bummer, on some level, to not enjoy that gooey cheese or buttery cinnamon goodness. But, something that has hit me this week (while I was extremely cranky from a lack of Plexus) is that food still somewhat controls me. That these are health choices, not predetermined programs. I CAN choose to walk the path, avoid the ______ that will give me tummy issues and throat issues and joint pain issues, etc., etc. Much of the ickyness has been my own bad choices, some purposely and some “spur-of-the-moment-I’m-aggravated-and-this-will-make-me-feel-better” types. No matter what tools you use (Plexus, work outs, etc.) YOU still need to keep that focus of health, that’s something I’ve missed all these years (slow learner, anyone??) Health is worth the sacrifice; and is it really a sacrifice to be healthy? I am the one, along with the 4 P’s, who makes these choices.

PRAYER
PERSERVERANCE
PATIENCE
Plexus

Let’s break it down.

PRAYER

Absolutely the most important priority. If I don’t have time to pray, I don’t have time for anything else. Unfortunately, I spend lots of time wishing I had MADE time to pray. I guess it’s just a fact of life, but I am going to be intentional to seek my Father’s Face and revel in Jesus’ Grace.

Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

PERSERVERANCE

Oh, so hard for us lazier folks. We like to sit and watch as others sweat it out, work it off and find it hard to stay on task. How often am I scrambling to get my Bible study done on a Tuesday evening? (Class is Wednesday morning) I call to make the cable payment with 10 minutes to spare. This is not the way to go. Be in the moment; get the job done.

Romans 5:2-4 Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice  in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope

PATIENCE

Oh, so elusive! I have never been a particularly patient human. I can’t wait for “what’s next,” no matter what it might be. I’m sure I wished away a billion things with my kids that I should have savored. I’ve stayed awake through nights reading books because, well…I needed to know what happened! I need to sit and know that HE is God. I need to rest in HIS will, whatever it may be, and especially if He’s not giving me great detail. I need to TRUST that He will do what is best, even if I can’t see or agree.

Romans 8:25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

James 5:8 You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.

Those are 3 P’s anyone can embrace. Scripture is full of examples of each one.

My 4th P is Plexus. I believe the Lord dropped these products into my life for this time and His purpose.

With the knowledge base that He has shown me over the past 3 years, I know that this is time to fight, to get strong and to live the life HE gave me!

What valuable tools I have in my journey to reclaim health! I have much to be thankful for. I plan to use them all, especially this next 6 weeks as I participate in a Biggest Loser contest online. I am 10 lbs away from my goal and I cannot wait to make my Plexus “Before and After” widget! I plan on adding my 4 P’s to that!

So, friends, what can you do over the next 6 weeks to work on reclaiming your health? Think on it. I know there’s something you can do!

Leave a Reply

