2017: New Year, Better Health and All That Jazz

Yep! It’s that time of year again, and this year I am determined to make some positive changes. I see what I have accomplished in the last 8 months; I know, if I pray, persevere and persist, I CAN move forward. It’s all so exciting and downright nerve wracking all at the same time.

So, I begin this by looking back. To when I first started taking my health semi-seriously, it goes back to May of 2007. Lots of stress at that time: I had a full year of my mom being ill and passing, we were in a crisis situation in our home on several fronts, but the main one was foreclosure. For months I had a sort of headache that felt like there was a very tight hat on my head. When I finally got around to the doctor, low and behold, my blood pressure was a whopping 149/110. Yeah. NO WONDER.

I really need to stop here and say, even though I did not want to take anything, my husband insisted, and I felt better almost immediately. There is, at times, a need for medication. I’m not a total crunchy momma ;-). But, I also know what a slew of medications did to destroy my mother’s liver. It’s a balance, for sure. And, what I came to discover, it IS in your control…but, I’m getting off track, as usual.

I found an exercise bike and started pedaling away and lost about 7 pounds (remember this fact). I felt better, and my pressure went down, but not out of the zone where I could stop taking the meds. That phase passed and I was soon at my old habits, lots of carbs, dairy and sugar.

Moving to Colorado in May of 2008 gave me a whole new perspective on health. Everyone here plays outside. It doesn’t matter if it’s 10 below or over 100. They all, to one degree or another, go out and play. Walking, hiking, swimming, skiing, jogging, marathons, etc. We have bike lanes, dog parks, Frisbee golf parks, hiking trails and, of course, the mountains. I wanated in on this fun!

Once I learned that you don’t step a foot out of your door without 20 gallons of water on hand, it went fine. Walks, mostly, were taken. The boys have bikes and are scouts, so they’ve done a lot more than I have. I went on my first hike with a friend, and it was challenging and fun!

Then…I started to feel achy. Nothing horrid, but a general “hey, that’s a little sore.” It progressed fairly quickly. So many of the things I love to do was beginning to tax me. Spending a day standing in the kitchen put me in bed early, and I’m an early-to-bed person to begin with! Being involved in teaching at Bible study wiped me out for 2 days. A walk…fuggetaboitit. It was also the time where, you know…the big “M.”

I began, in earnest, to read about hormones and spoke to the doctor, etc. I tried several different diets, and never could break that 5-7 pound plateau. I even hoped that going on the hormone replacement therapy would move those stubborn pounds. It certainly helped the hot flashes and night sweats (and you’d think all that sweating would have made me drop a few more pounds, but nooooooo.)

Meantime, my dear friend Sandy was losing an INCREDIBLE amount of weight and becoming quite a health freak. She, in her gentle and loving way, would tell me that I needed to go Paleo. I’d laugh at her every time. I kept telling her that she needed to come out to breakfast on Fridays instead of work out. She’d just smile, give me recipes, help me edit my books and, I know, pray for my stubborn mind to make the connection.

I had also reconnected with a friend (actually my daughter’s friend) through an online Pilates group and Facebook. She was always so slim and healthy and I couldn’t understand why she would keep posting stuff about her pink drink. I knew others who used the pink stuff and had been steadfastly ignoring it for, oh, 2 years? But, Jess…she had something that made me curious.

In May, this year (I must have some sort of cyclical thing about May) I spoke to my doctor, again, this time filling her in on all the dieting and not being able to lose, the pain, which I did have testing done and physical therapy for, and asking her, “What do you suggest?” She put me on to 2 books, The Blood Sugar Solution by Dr. Mark Hyman and The Hormone Reset Diet by Dr. Sara Gottfried. BOOM. The light came on, connection made and oh my goodness! I jumped in.

The first week following the protocol in one of the books, I lost 5 pounds. FIVE!!! Holy schmoley! I felt terrific and kept right on for a month before I added in the Plexus products. You see, a long list of supplements is suggested. All great and all needed. And fairly expensive to purchase them all. I picked what I considered the top 3, but I soon discovered that almost every one of them was in the products Plexus produces, and considerably less.

That’s when the BIG stuff began to happen. Every week I was losing. EVERY. WEEK. I couldn’t believe it. Even if I veered off course, I did not gain. I still would lose a half a pound. My pain…that chronic, debilitating, let-me-just-lay-in-bed pain? Practically GONE! My emotional state improved dramatically. I felt alive again!

The reasons? Balanced hormones! No Inflammation! Gut health!

Now, I don’t think that I will make my 25 lb goal by the end of the year. That’s okay, it’s been the holidays and I have not GAINED. Yes, I am ping ponging this one silly pound out of the three I have to go. It’s all good. I know it will go and will stay gone.

I have learned so much since May. I have trained myself to love exercise, even sweating. I have prayed and God has answered. I know that in 2017, I will go forward! And that, my friends, is a beautiful thing!

If you’d like to learn more about Plexus, email or message me.

vintagechyck@gmail.com

I wish all of you a wonderful and happy 2017! Thanks for sticking around and reading here.

Be blessed, Barb

15578836_10212941389548992_4234094769578242808_n

Leave a Reply

